Oinker of the Day

How important are newspaper endorsements in political campaigns?

— Gregory Flannery

Explore posts in the same categories: Porkopolis

8 Comments on “Oinker of the Day”

  1. Anne Mitchell Says:

    I ran for Covington City Commission about 10 years ago, and when I got the Post’s endorsement, a voter told me, “It’s the kiss of death.” Pretty sure that’s not the reason why, but I was first runner-up.

  2. Springdale woman Says:

    I heard something the other day on NPR indicating that, often, the newpaper endorsements are more important for ballot issues initialtives than for candidates.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    wow, typical deep thinking from the Mind of Robinson


  4. Guessing here, but, in towns or cities where the local newspaper has one well-respected editor, I think endorsements would carry substantial weight. But, in these days of political correctness, when we have “diverse” editorial boards, then an endorsement surely has about the same effect as a poll. (It would take a separate topic to explore the effect of polls on voting patterns.)

    Above said, I am a peaceful anarchist, meaning I don’t vote, and I recommend you do likewise.
    It’s like betting on sports: Politics is a sport. Go ahead. Enjoy sports. Just don’t bet on them. (Or, if you do, don’t expect any “winnings”.)

    Springdale woman makes a good point, but issues/initiatives are more important than candidates in being lines on the ballot to studiously avoid. Issues are for SERIOUS voters, who, in a more perfect world, would be rounded up and jailed for the whole election season.

  5. Natasha Says:

    Newspaper endorsements? These mean absolutely nothing to me.

    I do read Mr. Fox’s endorsements, but then I study and decide what is real for me.

  6. MJ Says:

    As a lifelong Democrat, I can’t you have sided with politicians like Marc Dann or Ted Strickland who support the peoliferation of guns which are killing our children. We have to stand up against gun violence.


  7. “We have to stand up against gun violence.”

    MJ,
    Stand up so we gun nuts can mow your naive ass down in a hail of lead.

    Sorry about your luck.
    (Either grow up or seek succor with Skaggie Maggie of the Inkwar.)


Leave a Reply

